Search Minerals Inc. (TSX.V: SMY)

公司概況

Search Minerals (TSX.V: SMY) 專注於發現和開發位於加拿大拉布拉多東南部關鍵稀土元素 (CREE) 區內的資源。該區域有道路可通達、臨近潮汐區,並蘊藏大量在綠色經濟技術應用上具有戰略意義且供不應求的關鍵稀土元素。鑒於此,本公司希望發展成為一家具有競爭力、低成本及對環境負責的關鍵稀土元素(CREE)全球市場供應商。我們的企業目標是通過在加拿大勘探和開發關鍵稀土元素項目區,為股東帶來長期的價值。

市場概述

股權結構

截至2019年12月31日

已發行股票 228,775,848
認股權證 40,864,434
期權 17,775,000
完全攤薄後股數 287,415,282

 

投資亮點

  • 區域機會 – Search在該地區控制著一個長70公里、寬8公里的資源帶,擁有兩處獨立的資源、另外兩個發現區以及20多個前景區。
  • 對該地區的兩個項目已經進行了資源量估測 (FOXTROT和DEEPFOX)。
  • 一份更新的初步經濟評估報告中將包含FOXTROT和DEEPFOX的資源量,使該公司能夠優化生產率並延長礦山壽命。
  • 初步經濟評估—FOXTROT資源量—稅後資本回收期4年。
  • 堅實的回報—以每年折現率10%計算,FOXTROT項目在14年的礦山壽命期間可帶來稅後淨現值$4800萬,內部收益率達到7%。
  • 資本支出負擔低—$1.52億,初期資本支出非常低。
  • 運營成本低—有道路通達、臨近潮汐、突破性的濕法冶金工藝為成為低成本生產商創造條件。
  • 項目可擴展—FOXTROT初期產量預計為日均1000噸,DEEPFOX可助力擴產。
  • 關鍵稀土元素—含有較高比例經濟價值高的鏑、釹、鐠、鋱、鑭。
  • 環境優勢—幹堆廢渣更加環保。
  • 勘探潛力—已經開始在Fox Meadows進行槽探取樣,同時在該地區的其他前景區開展工作。
  • 礦業友好轄區—紐芬蘭和拉布拉多省在Fraser Institute評審的104個採礦轄區中排名第16位。
  • 良好的社區關係—獲得原住民和當地社區的支持。
  • 經驗—充滿活力的管理團隊和董事會。

項目

Foxtrot資源開發項目

地理位置和地質填圖:

FOXTROT礦床臨近St Lewis海岸社區,靠近潮汐,有公路可通達。St. Lewis的深水港全年可通行,而且該地區擁有豐富的勞動力資源。與此同時,與當地社區和代表該地區原住民的Nunatukavut社區委員會建立了牢固和積極的工作關係。到目前為止,已在FOXTROT礦床進行了探邊勘測、地質填圖和地球物理勘察,72口鑽孔鑽探長度達到18,885米,還有20個地表探槽,發現礦床仍向深處開放。很好地理解了礦化區域的構成,地表取樣結果也與地下鑽探的分析結果一致,使我們對該地區整個的資源潛力有了進一步的認識。

初步經濟評估:

2016年4月,獨立諮詢公司Roscoe Postle Associates Inc. (RPA)利用Search Minerals專有的直接提取工藝更新了FOXTROT項目的初步經濟評估(PEA)。在此基礎上,本公司正在推進環境評估,目標是進行礦山開發。以總的指示資源量739萬噸以及推斷資源量198萬噸為基礎,礦山壽命規劃顯示,在14年礦山壽命期間可開採490萬噸稀土元素總量(TREE)品位0.98%的礦石,其中前八年為露天開採,之後轉為地下開採。

礦山開發:

如初步經濟評估中所指出,礦山初期開發成本為$1.52億,其中包括$3300萬的應急資金,與其他稀土元素項目相比成本較低,這與FOXTROT礦床有公路可通達、臨近深水港、以及公司預計利用專有的直接提取工藝技術(目前正在等待專利批准)降低資本和運營成本等優勢密不可分。2015年初,Search曾聘請SNC-Lavalin Australia Pty Ltd (SNC-Lavalin)使用該技術對FOXTROT項目進行概括研究,主要目標是為擬建的加工設施制定初步的資本和運營成本估測。這項研究隨後被RPA用在完成2016年4月的初步經濟評估中。根據對直接提取工藝的詳細描述,省去了磨礦、磁選、重力選礦以及氣泡浮選等較為傳統的提取方法中的固有工藝,使該公司能夠大幅降低資金和運營成本。此外,由於廢棄物將以更穩定的幹渣形式存在,因此可以不用使用濕的尾礦池,有利於現場堆垛,從而降低礦山的整體資源版圖和環境風險。

管理層

Greg Andrews 總裁兼首席執行官,董事

Andrews先生擁有卡爾加裡大學金融專業商學學士學位,還有20多年向上市和私營公司提供戰略規劃、財務和行政管理諮詢服務的經驗,曾擔任一家註冊投資組合管理公司的總經理、一個私人家族理財室的總經理和一家批發分銷公司的總裁。1993年至今,Andrews先生在多家多交所創業板上市公司擔任董事,包括礦業、油氣、科技和生物科技領域的公司。

Randy Miller 博士、專業地質師 勘探副總裁

Miller博士擁有多倫多大學的地質學博士學位,以及豐富的稀土元素研究經驗,包括為加拿大鐵礦公司(Iron Ore Company of Canada)位於拉布拉多西北部的Strange Lake礦床進行野外填圖和金剛石鑽探監督,還曾在紐芬蘭和拉布拉多省地質調查局擔任了12年的稀土專家。Miller博士發表了多篇關於Strange Lake礦床、Nuiklavik火山岩的成礦作用和地質構造以及拉布拉多Letitia Lake區域Mann型成礦作用的論文和報告。這些研究中建立的稀土元素成礦規律模型為Search Mineral在拉布拉多進行稀土元素勘探奠定了基礎。

David Dreisinger 博士 董事兼冶金副總裁

Dreisinger博士自1988年起在加拿大卑詩大學擔任濕法冶金學教授,並任工業研究主席,發表過250多篇論文,多年來一直從事冶金企業工藝顧問工作,在此期間還參與了19項美國專利工作,包括壓力浸出、離子交換去除工藝溶液中的雜質、在黃金浸出中使用硫代硫酸鹽作為氰化物的替代品,以及銅鋶的浸出電解處理。Dreisinger博士還參與了從硫化礦石中回收銅的芒特戈登煉銅法(Mt. Gordon Copper Process)以及從硫化粘土礦石中回收銅的Sepon煉銅法的發明。他還積極參與Boleo的擬定冶金工藝流程的開發,是世界上濕法冶金領域公認的專家之一。

Search Minerals Inc. (TSX.V: SMY)

Summary

Search Minerals (TSX.V: SMY) focus is on exploration and development of the Critical Rare Earth Element District in Southeastern Labrador, Canada. This District is road accessible, on tidewater and contains significant quantities of those elements that are in short supply and considered strategic or critical due to their use in green economy technologies. Based on these attributes, the Company hopes to become a competitive, low-cost, environmentally responsible supplier of Critical Rare Earth Elements (CREE) to the global marketplace. Our corporate objective is to deliver long-term value to shareholders through the exploration and development of critical rare earth element properties in Canada.

Stock Chart

Share Structure

As of December 31, 2019

Shares Issued

228,775,848 

Warrants

40,864,434

Options

17,775,000

Fully Diluted

287,415,282 

Investment Highlights

  • District Opportunity – Search controls a 70 km X 8 km District with two stand-alone mineral resource, two other discoveries and 20 additional prospects.
  • District contains 2 – Resources Estimates (FOXTROT and DEEPFOX)
  • An updated Preliminary Economic Assessment report will contain resources from both FOXTROT and DEEPFOX, which allows Search to optimize production rates and could extend life of mine
  • Preliminary Economic Assessment – on the FOXTROT Resource – After-tax payback in 4.4 years.
  • Solid Returns – Discounted at 10 per cent per annum, the 14 year LOM FOXTROT Project offers an IRR of 16.7% on an After Tax NPV of $48m.
  • Low CAPEX Burden – At $152million, initial CAPEX costs are very low.
  • Low OPEX – Road accessible, on tidewater and a breakthrough hydrometallurgical process provides opportunity to be a low-cost producer.
  • Scalable Project – initial production of 1,000 tpd with FOXTROT, could increase with DEEPFOX
  • Critical REEs – Economically significant percentages of dysprosium, neodymium, praseodymium, terbium and lanthanum.
  • Environmental Advantage – Dry stackable waste residue is more environmentally friendly.
  • Exploration Upside – Fox Meadows has initiated channel sample program and work on the other prospects in the District
  • Mining Friendly Jurisdiction – Newfoundland and Labrador ranked #16 out of 104 jurisdictions reviewed by the Fraser Institute.
  • Great Relationships – Supportive aboriginal and local communities.
  • Experience – An energized Management Team and Board of Directors

Projects

The Foxtrot Resource Development Project

Location and Geological Mapping

Located near the coastal community of St Lewis, the FOXTROT deposit is on tidewater and road accessible. The deep-water port at St. Lewis is open year-round and there is a motivated workforce available in the area. Strong, positive working relationships have been established with these communities and with the Nunatukavut Community Council who represents the aboriginal people in the area. To date The FOXTROT deposit has been delineated by, geological mapping and geophysics, 20 surface channels and 18,885 metres of drilling in 72 drill holes. It is open at depth. The context of the mineralized zones is very well understood and surface sampling results have been consistent with assays at depth giving us further insight into the overall District potential.

Preliminary Economic Assessment

In April 2016, independent consultants Roscoe Postle Associates Inc. (RPA) updated their Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) of the FOXTROT Project applying Search Minerals’ proprietary Direct Extraction Process. On that basis, the company is moving forward with the Environmental Assessment process with a view to mine development. Based on a total indicated resource of 7.39 million tonnes and an inferred resource of 1.98 million tonnes, the Life of Mine Plan outlined in the PEA indicates that 4.9 Mt of ore grade material at an average grade of 0.98% Total Rare Earth Elements (TREE) could be mined over a 14-year period, including open pit mining for the first eight years and underground mining thereafter.

Mine Development

As noted in the PEA, initial mine development costs at $152 million are relatively low in comparison to other REE projects and includes a $33 million contingency. This relates to the fact that the FOXTROT Deposit is road accessible, in close proximity to a deep-water port and to capital and operational cost savings that the Company expects to gain from its proprietary Direct Extraction Processing Technology (Patent Pending). In early 2015 SNC-Lavalin Australia Pty Ltd (SNC-Lavalin) was retained by Search to conduct a scoping study for the FOXTROT Project based on the use of this technology. The primary objective was to develop preliminary capital and operating cost estimates for the proposed processing facility. This study was subsequently used by RPA in the completion of the April 2016 Preliminary Economic Assessment. As per the detailed description of the Direct Extraction Process, the elimination of the grinding, magnetic and gravity separation and bubble flotation processes inherent in more traditional extraction methods, will enable Search to reduce capital and operating costs significantly. Furthermore, as the waste will be in the form of a more stable dry residue, a wet tailing pond can be eliminated in favor of and onsite stacking pad that will decrease the mine’s overall footprint and environmental risks.

Management Profiles

Greg Andrews President and Chief Executive Officer, Director

Mr. Andrews received his Bachelor of Commerce, Finance from the University of Calgary. He has over 20 years of experience in strategic planning, financial and administrative management consulting to public and private companies. He has held positions as General Manager of a Registered Portfolio Management company, General Manager of a Private Family Office and President of a wholesale distribution company. Mr. Andrews has also held various directorships in TSX Venture listed companies since 1993, including those involved in mining, oil and gas, technology and biotechnology.

Dr. Randy Miller, Ph.D, P.Geo Vice President, Exploration

Dr. Miller holds a Ph.D. in Geology from the University of Toronto. He has extensive experience studying rare earth elements including field mapping and supervision of diamond drilling on the Strange Lake deposit in NW Labrador for the Iron Ore Company of Canada. Randy spent 12 years with the Newfoundland and Labrador Geological Survey as their Rare Earth Specialist. Dr. Miller’s publications include papers and reports on the Strange Lake deposit, on the mineralization and geology of the Nuiklavik volcanic rocks and on the Mann-type mineralization in the Letitia Lake area, Labrador. The model of rare earth element metallogeny developed from these studies is the basis of Search Mineral’s REE exploration program in Labrador.

Dr. David Dreisinger, Ph.D Director & Vice President, Metallurgy

Dr. Dreisinger holds the position of Industrial Research Chair, Hydrometallurgy at the University of British Columbia where he has been a Professor since 1988. He has over 250 publications to his credit and has been involved as a process consultant for metallurgical companies for many years. He has participated in 19 U.S. patents for work in areas such as pressure leaching, ion exchange removal of impurities from process solutions, use of thiosulfate as an alternative to cyanide in gold leaching, and leach-electrolysis treatment of copper matte. Dr. Dreisinger also co-invented the Mt. Gordon Copper Process for copper recovery from sulfide ores and the Sepon Copper Process for copper recovery from sulfidic-clayey ores. He has been actively involved in the development of the proposed metallurgical flow sheet for Boleo and is one of the recognized experts in the world in the area of hydrometallurgy.